Skip to content

Operation Christmas Child. personal

December 5, 2009

We have always wanted to do it. To fill a shoe box and bring some measure of joy to a child, somewhere in the world. We have the best intentions! Some years, we even buy the stuff. Despite all our intentions, we have never sent a shoe box. Until this year. But this year, this year, we finally followed through.  And I was so blessed by it.

A group from our church decided to volunteer at the OCC processing center here in Charlotte and I jumped at the opertunity. Apparently, it is really difficult to ‘get in’ to help, there are so many people who volunteer. I was not sure how it was going to go… I only knew two or three people from our group and the rest  of our group were mainly youth groupers. In the end, I had an amazing time.

It wasn’t because I knew everyone I was working with. It wasn’t because it was THE most fun I’ve ever had. It wasn’t because I was comfortable in the situation. It wasn’t because of anything I thought it would be. It was amazing because I was a very small part of something huge. Something that glorified the Lord and spread the good news of salvation to the nations. I loved it because I was serving.

I was coming alongside hundreds of people from all over the nation and world to serve a purpose bigger than any of us. I was reaching out to children everywhere, even though all I did was pass inspected shoe boxes to a couple of guys to fit into a box.

That’s all I did. But it was so much more. In those short four hours of volunteering, I realized a few things about myself.

- I love serving.

- I love working with my hands AND my heart.

- I love being a small part of something big.

- I love meeting new people  and having our Savior in common.

- I want to be a bigger part of OCC.

These realizations could mean nothing. I could decide to overlook them, forget about them, or even discard them. It’s up to me. And I’m choosing to act. I feel a call to act.  I’m not sure where this road will lead me but I am so excited to learn things about myself and act on the things I learn. I’m excited to see where God will take me, what he has for me.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Marli Ivers permalink
    December 7, 2009 12:46 pm

    very cool cait! I’m glad you learned that about yourself and that you are continuing to pursue this new found passion, the Lord will lead you and guide you into his amazing plans for you, your gifts and your passions! <3~Marli

  2. Marli Ivers permalink
    December 7, 2009 12:51 pm

    P.S LOVE that pic of your family sticking out of the box!!!!!! amazingly beautiful!!!

  3. December 7, 2009 9:47 pm

    I’ve always wanted to do that.

  4. January 4, 2010 11:13 pm

    I was also blessed to be apart of this process this Christmas! What a blessing, right? Just like you said, all we do is inspect boxes, but we have no idea how much we may be blessing kids all across the world. I definitely loved the sovereignty in it all, that the Lord knows exactly what child needs each box…incredible. Our God is good! :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

