Skip to content

Alyssa . bridal

May 19, 2010

It’s been a while, has it not? It seems as if time has stood still and at times, flew by. So much has happened, yet I’m in the same place. I’m going to be an intern next year (more to come on that), I’ve had a camera crap out on my so I bought another then it, too, crapped out on me (grrrrrumble), many friends have recently become engaged (and goodness, how excited I am for you all!),  and  the wedding of one of my dearest and closest friends, Alyssa.  I’ve know Alyssa for four years, I believe, and these years have been filled with many things but mainly laughter and good times. The best of times. Haha. Oh, I love this girl dearly. I’m honored that she asked me to shoot her wedding, her “big day.” It was an added pleasure to be able to traipse around in the woods and fields with her.

It may have been the hottest day yet when we ventured out to shoot Alyssa’s bridal portraits, but she was such a trooper!

One of my very favorites and the image displayed at the reception:

She’s stunning. And so naturally photogenic.

This image, below, has caused me a lot of pain. I’m backing up to set up the shot and notice that I’m standing in knee high weeds. I don’t really think anything of the itching as I’m allergic to grass/weeds/such when I touch it. I glanced down as I was walking back to the car and, with fear in my heart, realized the leaves were ominously shaped and oily looking. Uh oh. Well nothing happens so I write it off. Long story short, I contracted poison something (ivy, oak, or sumac) from my mid-thigh to ankle on the back of my left leg and completely covering my right foot/ankle. It turned out to be systemic so I got a shot of steroids and a six-day dosage to dry it up. It seemed to be working wonders and then new lesions started showing up two or three days ago. AHHH! Haha. The itching is killing me. But it was worth it to get the shot. :)

Alyssa and Frank were married this past Saturday and it was simply wonderful. Look for that post in the days to come. Frank and Alyssa, I love you dearly! I hope you’re enjoying the Outer Banks.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2010 7:45 pm

    These are absolutely beautiful Cait! She is stunning!

  2. Arreptirm permalink
    May 27, 2010 3:28 am

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

  3. July 21, 2010 3:42 am

    Oh wow! I just LOVEEEE these portraits!! She is such a natural in front of the camera, all of these are so great, the first bw one just leaves me in awe though! Sorry to hear about the nasty weeds! I just did a country photoshoot where I got seven mosquito bites on my face (not counting the rest of me), not fun, but worth it in the end ha!

  4. nina wilson permalink
    September 5, 2010 1:17 pm

    thank you so much for the love and consideration you have shown to Alyssa and Frank. I cannot see her as I wish, but it is so wonderful to see her face on your site and be able to enjoy this time through your photography. May God guide your hand and your sight always. It brings great joy….Nina Wilson, Grandmother to a beautiful Alyssa.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

