Skip to content

Frank & Alyssa . wedding

June 14, 2010

I couldn’t believe it was here. I mean, I know I spent the previous year talking and dreaming and then entire weekend at her house, but can today really be Alyssa’s wedding day? But, here it was. And I was so incredibly excited! I love weddings and I love shooting weddings. I think it’s the love that gets me. The love in relationships. Not just between bride and groom (though they are precious, indeed), but family and friends. I love that we celebrate love. We come together, all dressed up, to celebrate, support, and love the couple who are starting a new life together. There is such joy and excitement at a wedding. This wedding was no exception. Actually, it was probably the rule. Such love. *sigh* It was wonderful.

Frank and Alyssa, I love you dearly. I’m so excited for you two, your future together. and the great plans God has for you. Alyssa, thank you for allowing me to be a part of your big day, and not just behind the lens. I truly felt like part of the bridal party and my heart rejoiced. I hope that you love your photos and, though this part makes me a little nervous if I’m honest, I hope you show them to your children and grandchildren with pride. Thank you.

(P.S. This may be a rather long post; be forewarned.)

These are so Alyssa: funky, elegant, and fabulous. Seriously, look at these SHOES! I die. Really, I die.

She was adorable, the whole day. She never slowed down, but she was always smiling, always laughing. Once, when it was just Alyssa, her mother, and I waiting for her father, we all got really quite. I couldn’t hold back the tears. If we hadn’t pulled ourselves together; well, one more minute and we’d have lost it for real. Alyssa and her mom kept saying “Ok, okay. That was it. We’re done. No more tears.” And laugh at each other.

When Thomas saw his little girl for the first time, it was a very special moment.  There wasn’t a dry eye in the room. Thomas has cancer, incurable in the eyes of man. He was told at one point that he may not live to walk his daughter down the isle. But that was two years ago. And God is merciful. He has seen Thomas and his family through many a tough time. This moment was truly a gift.

Though they decided against a first look, Alyssa wanted one more chance to squeeze her man’s hand before she walked down the isle to meet him, to marry him.

She looks lost in his eyes. So precious.

Married, married. Hurrah!

Frank and his boys, looking rather dashing.

Originally, I was supposed to have an hour with Frank and Alyssa after the ceremony, but as the day went on, that time kept getting cut and cut. I’m proud of the fact that I ended up with 7mins total and I think we got some great shots. Some of my favorites, actually.

Ever, by the way.

Hello, lens flare.  Thanks for gracing us with your presence. You are gorgeous.

There were some wonderfully hilarious toasts…

… some adorable first dancing…

… some touching father-daughter dancing…

… and then we danced the night away…

… and that was that.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2010 11:00 pm

    CAIT!! These photos are beautiful and gorgeous and amazing and emotional and awesome and…and…and…. SO much more :) LOVELY LOVELY job.

  2. Carrie Sippy permalink
    June 20, 2010 7:13 pm

    The pictures are AMAZING, Cait! I love them so much! You did a wonderful job capturing the day and the amazing couple. :) Love you, Cait! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

